September Scarecrow Festival

We will again be  hosting our scarecrow festival, with this year’s theme being “Wild Things”.  It will run from 1st until 14th  September – just before the Scarecrows have their winter break.

“Wild Things” can be anything your imagination takes you to. Rock stars, ravers, revellers, wildlife presenters, wild animals, carnivorous plants, cavemen, funky fashion – we mean anything!

Shops and businesses are being encouraged to display their scarecrows outside their premises or in their windows for two weeks from 1st September for shoppers to enjoy and attract people to our lovely village centre.  Not got a window? Don’t worry we’ll try to find you one.

But it is not just the local enterprises! Members of the general public can also enter and there will be a special prize for the best public entry!

You can create your own Scarecrow with Wild Things as the theme and bring it to the village for judging. At the judging at the Autumn Worker Bee Market on 14th September, the judges will be looking for the scariest scarecrow, the most original idea, the best craftsmanship, the best tableau/ whole window display and, of course, the overall festival winner.

*You can get a scarecrow starter kit for just £20 or re-enter last time’s model for £15. To create a Tableaux the costs are £35 for two kits, £45 for three kits and £50 for four kits. They are obtained by contacting Maggie at angularelbows@gmail.com

After that you have free rein to dress your scarecrow however you like but with the Wild Things theme.  Props are allowed. Alternatively, you can make your own scarecrow from scratch and enter the competition for just *£15. 

Proceeds from the festival will go to our charity fund from where they will be used in support of local, national and international charities and good causes.

Who will be first to spot Billy and Bella, our Rotary scarecrows?

*Note: all prices above are last year’s. We will try to hold them but it depends on not too much of an increase from our suppliers.

Caribbean Cruise Evening – What a night that was!

Special thanks to our sponsors Leighton Snow Estate agents, The Vernon Building Society, Lynx Taxis and Sapphire Clear Cut Thinking

What’s been happening at your Rotary club?

Just look at our programme and if you like the look of something then contact us to arrange a visit – no need to join or make any commitment. You will be welcomed and if you like it then come again!

Wed 10 July – Jo Lowe gave a very informative talk about the NW air ambulance.

Wed 3 July – Committees

Sun 30 June – President Pat’s farewell garden party

Wed 26 June – Club assembly and handover. New President (Lesley) and new Treasurer (Lynn) for new Rotary Year

Wed 19 June – Caribbean cruise evening

Wed 12 June – Jeanette Carlow – Stockport Without Abuse

Wed 5 June – Committees

Wed 29 May – Although no official meeting a group had a great meal and a fun time at Amici in Bramhall village square.

Wed 22 May – Duck Race debrief – it was a great day, but there are things we can do better next time

Sun 19th May – Duck Race and Family Fun Day

Wed 15th May – Duck Race Briefing. Such a huge event needs lots of planning!

Wed 8 May – A casual social chit chat

Wed 1 May – Committees and AGM. Lots of planning going on re duck race, Caribbean evening and more.

Fri 26 to Sun 28 April – A group went to the District Conference in Llandudno

Wed 24 April – John Hancock – Macclesfield Ukrainian Aid
John and Anne gave an inspiring presentation about the incredible work they do getting aid delivered to Ukraine

Thu 18 April – visit to AVRO Heritage Museum

Wed 10 April – Jonathan Billings- Engage, Grow, Go Charity     

Wed 3 April – Committees

Wed 27 March – Harry and Richard gave an illustrated talk of the club’s recent visit to Uganda.


Wed 20 March – The Spring Fashion Show at Notcutts. All the models below are members of the Rotary Club!

Wed 13 March – Committees – fashion show, duck race, fiesta etc

Friday 8 March – President’s Night at the Pinewood Hotel. Great fun with an 18 piece jazz/swing band.

Wed 28 February – David Roche gave a presentation on technology for hearing loss. Amazing developments taking place.

Wed 21 February – Our wine expert, Sarah, led a hugely enjoyable tasting.

Wed 14 February – Peter Wilkins spoke about his life as a person Blind Since Birth. A very impressive and positive man!

Wed 7 February – Committees. Spring fashion show and more. It was farewell to Peter who is moving to Devon and happy 90th birthday to John, one of our founder members.

Fri 26 January – Theatre evening at CHADS.

Wed 24 January – The annual quiz for the collecting groups who went out with Santa’s float. The Mill won!

Wed 17 January – Prof Stephen Preece told us about new thinking and treatment for chronic musculoskeletal pain. A super presentation relevant to many of us!

Wed 10 January – A team from Hazel Grove High School rehearsed their Youth Speaks entry. A joy to see young adults so knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

Wed 3 January 2024 – Committees. Wine tasting, fashion show, Easter Bunny, trip to Uganda and more.

new year. COVID safe theatre evening, scarecrow festival, international concert etc.

For older activities see here